The International Steering Committee (ISC) of GAMAG reflects regional, linguistic and generational diversity, and includes representations of key stakeholder sectors such as media professionals and their unions, media organizations, civil society organizations and researchers.

Executive Committee

Chair: Aimée Vega Montiel, International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)

General Secretary: Sarah Macharia, World Association for Christian Communication (WACC)

Deputy Chair: María Angeles Samperio, Federation of Journalists (IFJ)

Regional Chapter Chairs

Africa: Nancy Mbaya (Independent)

Asia-Pacific: Laxmi Murthy (Network of Women in Media India NWMI)

Europe:  Teresa Carreras (Associació Dinamitzadora de la Xarxa de Dones Periodistes i Comunicadores de Catalunya-Xarxa Internacional de Periodistes amb Visió de Gènere – Spain)

Latin America and the Caribbean:  Lucía Lagunes (Comunicación e Información de la Mujer, A.C– Mexico)

Thematic Committee Chairs

Research and Policy: Carla Cerqueira

Media Practice: Sonia Santoro

Training and Capacity building: Sharmini Boyle

Advocacy and Communication: Vilma Peña


Carolyn Byerly
Margaret Gallagher
Ammu Joseph
Albana Shala